Andre Ayew wins Best Newcomer award at Swansea

first_imgGhana deputy captain Andre ‘Dede’ Ayew has been named the winner of Swansea City Best Newcomer Award.The 26-year-old also has the opportunity to win the club’s top scorer with a game to end the season, having already scored 11 goals.He was however beaten to the top award Player of the season Award by his Icelandic teammate Gylfi Sigurdsson who scooped a total of four awards at tonight’s Player of the Year Awards at the Liberty Stadium.The Icelandic international also picked up the Away Player of the Year, Players’ Player of the Year and Supporters Player of the Year awards.Ayew with one game to end the campaign will continue his personal battle with Sigurdsson as both players are tied on 11 goals heading into Sunday’s final league game against Manchester City.The Ghanaian arrived from Marseille on a free transfer last summer and had an immediate impact at the Liberty Stadium, scoring three goals in his first four games. Ayew also had two nominations in this year’s Goal of the Season shortlist, an award which was voted for on the night and eventually went to Jack Cork for his strike in the 3-1 home win over Liverpool.Meanwhile, young defender Stephen Kingsley – who made his third top-flight appearance in last weekend’s win over West Ham – was named as the club’s Under-21s Player of the Year after a fine season with both the first-team and development squad.Modou Barrow picked up the Young Player of the Year award as the Gambian international made 22 appearances for the Swans in all competitions, as well as netting his first Premier League goal in the 3-2 defeat against Bournemouth back in March.There was also the special Lifetime Achievement Award, a prestigious distinction that is given to someone who has often gone above and beyond for the cause of Swansea City Football Club.And this year’s award was given to Alan Curtis, a man who has filled just about every role possible at the club from player, coach, assistant manager and, over the course of the current campaign, first-team manager. Following the departure of Garry Monk back in December, Curtis stepped in at the helm to steady the ship and secured a number of impressive results ahead of the appointment of Francesco Guidolin in January.Full list of awardsSupporters’ Player of the Year (sponsored by the South Wales Evening Post)Gylfi SigurdssonPlayers’ Player of the Year (sponsored by Exemplar Education)Gylfi SigurdssonBest Newcomer (sponsored by AMMCOM)Andre Ayew Away Player of the Year (sponsored by Swansea City Travel Club)Gylfi SigurdssonYoung Player of the Year (sponsored by Travel House)Modou BarrowTop Goalscorer (sponsored by Budget Carpets)Andre Ayew and Gylfi SigurdssonGoal of the Season (sponsored by Low Cost Vans)Jack Cork v Liverpool (H)Lifetime Achievement Award (sponsored by Swansea City Supporters Trust)Alan Curtis –Follow Joy Sports on Twitter: @JoySportsGH. Our hashtag is #JoySportslast_img